Women’s domestic summer opens with three rounds of action

The women’s domestic cricket season is about to get underway with three full rounds set to take place around the country.

The Action Cricket Twenty20 competition kick starts the summer with a series of matches on Friday 2 December ahead of the a full round of 50-over cricket in the Action Cricket Cup, before rounding out the weekend with moreTwenty20 cricket on Sunday.

It’s not only pride and bragging rights at stake, but the chance of White Ferns selection for the Rose Bowl in Australia at the start of the New Year. There is plenty to play for, so expect a fierce and exciting 2011/2012 competition.  

Defending champs, the Canterbury Magicians will be confident of retaining their title this season, with yet another strong squad for the 2011-12 summer. Billed as the quickest in the world, Lea Tahuhu will spearhead their bowling attack, with opener Frances Mackay being a reliable anchor for their batting line-up. Considering the depth and talent the Magicians possess, you’d be hard pressed to bet against them.

Leader of the chasing teams will undoubtedly be the Wellington Blaze, who will be hoping to go one better this year after being edged out in both finals in 2010. Strike weapon Liz Perry will have the other teams on notice, her large hitting a pleasure to watch. The form that Sara McGlashan has been in means the Central Hinds will also be looking to make a move this year. With the support of White Ferns Kate Broadmore and Rachel Priest, no team will be taking the Hinds lightly.

One of the teams looking to surprise will be the Otago Sparks. Suzie Bates will need to be inspirational for the Southern team, but they will be buoyed by the return of former Cantabrian, Suzie Burrows. Auckland Hearts have a great strike weapon of their own, securing the services of hard hitting West Indies player, Stefanie Taylor. Like the Hearts, the Northern Spirit will be relying on some of their own stars to get them across the line, young White Fern Natalie Dodd will be one such pivotal figure.

The finals will be played on 14 and 15 January at the venue of the team which tops the points table at the completion of the preliminary rounds.

All matches will be live scored on all Major Association websites and blackcaps.co.nz.  For further information about the Action Cricket Twenty20 and Action Cricket Cup visit www.blackcaps.co.nz/whiteferns

Domestic cricket squads:

Auckland Hearts

Saskia Bullen
Sarah Carnachan
Sam Curtis
Lauren Down
Shannen Elliott
Maddie Green
Paula Gruber
Georgia Guy
Holly Huddleston
Arlene Kelly
Victoria Lind
Roz McNeill
Katie Perkins
Megan Tremaine
Coaches – Maia Lewis & Katrina Keenan

Northern Spirit

Heidi Arndt
Nicola Browne
Natalie Dodd
Caitlin Dodunski
Natalie Edwards
Jordy Hardacre
Brooke Kirkbride
Katie Johnson
Felicity Leydon Davis
Morna Nielsen
Anna Peterson
Hannah Trollip
Rhiana Vincent

Coach – Owen Steverson

Central Hinds

Kate Broadmore
Abby Burrows
Briar Cloake
Michelle Frey
Sandee Hui
Esther Lanser
Sara McGlashan
Rachel Priest
Eimear Richardson
Hannah Rowe
Maneka Singh
Kerry Tomlinson
Briana Watson

Coach – Mike Shrimpton

Wellington Blaze

Michelle Bunkall
Madeleine Chapman
Deanna Docherty
Lucy Doolan
Allex Evans
Melinda Hodgson
Suzie McDonald
Renee Moffitt
Elizabeth Perry
Sian Ruck
Kelly Sutherland
Andrea Stockwell
Sarah Taylor
Megan Wakefield (c)

Coach – Leigh Kelly

Canterbury Magicians

Kelly Anderson
Erin Bermingham
Janet Brehaut
Rachel Candy
Nat Cox
Mandie Godliman
Hayley Jensen
Meg Kendal
Hannah Linton
Frances Mackay
Hana Mauafu
Amy Satterthwaite (c)
Jacinta Savage
Lea Tahuhu

Coach – Stephen Cunis

Otago Sparks

Victoria Abbott
Suzie Bates
Suzie Burrows
Kylie Crowley
Lisa Grant
Kathryn Harvey
Rebecca Heenan
Alana Kane
Katey Martin
Natasha Miles
Tanya Morrison
Sarah Osborne
Kate Stiven
Bridget Thayer

Coach – Nathan King


With Thanks To

Sky Pitch ANZ Ford
2 Degrees Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui