Wellington crowned champions, Auckland secure second

Auckland, Northern and Canterbury secure wins on final day

Wellington were crowned Provincial A champions at the conclusion of the tournament at the New Zealand Cricket High Performance Centre in Lincoln today, despite losing to Northern Districts in an eliminator over in the final round.

Wellington finished on 21 points at the end of eight rounds, two ahead of Auckland in second place. Their back-to-back Twenty20 victories yesterday had given them a five point advantage over the rest of the field and ensured them the title with a game in hand.

Auckland themselves finished on a positive note with a stunning ten wicket victory over Central Districts. Canterbury was the other side to pick up points on the final day, elevating themselves into fifth with a three wicket triumph over southern rivals Otago.

Josh Brodie ended as the leading run-scorer for the tournament with 364 runs to his name, despite playing two less games than everyone else. Brodie had a top score of 110 and averaged 60.66 for the tournament.

The leading wicket-taker accolade was shared, with Sam Blakely and Joe Walker picking up 14 victims each. Blakely was consistent throughout the tournament, collecting at least one wicket in all but one of the matches he played in. Walker on the other hand had both a four wicket and a five wicket-bag to his name, with his best figures of five for 44 coming against Canterbury.

Canterbury’s David Fulton was the most successful of the wicket-keepers, taking eight catches and effecting four stumpings to finish with a tournament high 12 dismissals.


With Thanks To

Sky Pitch ANZ Ford
2 Degrees Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui