Unchanged 12-man England squad for 2nd Test against New Zealand

England selectors today named an unchanged 12-man squad for the second Test against New Zealand commencing Friday May 24 at Headingley following the 170 run victory against New Zealand in the first Test at Lord’s.

Three Yorkshire players feature in the squad with Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root looking to play their first Test match at their home ground and Tim Bresnan hoping for an opportunity to play in his first Test match since undergoing elbow surgery in February.

Geoff Miller, National Selector, said: “It was pleasing to start the international summer with a win over New Zealand in the first Investec Test and I thought the team showed a lot of fighting spirit when under pressure to set up the victory. We are aware that there are still areas that we need to improve on and the players and coaches will be working hard ahead of the second Test to ensure we continue to get better as a side. New Zealand showed again that they are a dangerous side and we know we will need to produce another strong performance this week to secure a series victory.”

England squad – 2nd Test
Alastair Cook (Essex) (Captain)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Nick Compton (Somerset)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)

*A piece from the England Cricket Board

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills