Takapuna take out Men's Club Final

Takapuna have been crowned victors of the National Men’s Club Championship with a convincing 141 run win over St Albans in the final at Cornwall Park.

The result brought an end to the six day competition and saw the Auckland based club claim the title from last year’s winning province, Christchurch.

Having beaten Takapuna during the round robin, St Albans once again got off to a good start by restricting the hard-hitting Takapuna batting line-up to just 92 for four after 23.1 overs. the wicket of Brad Cachopa early was a big one.

The home side fought back however, with Jono Sole making a crucial 98 to help get his side to a total of 238 for nine after 50 overs.

St Albans got their chase off to a solid start at 33 without loss, but it soon turned pear-shaped for theChristchurch based team, as the Takapuna bowling attack got on top of them and didn't take their foot off the throat to the final wicket.

The match was wrapped up quickly, with Takapuna tearing through the batting line-up and dismissing St Albans for 97 after 28.1 overs. It gave Takapuna a huge 141 run win.

It is the first time that Takapuna have won the National Men’s Cricket Club Championship.

In the other two matches, Eastern Suburbs chased down Otumoetai Cadets 186 to claim third, while Taieri sealed a narrow four run victory over United to finish fifth.

Final standings

1. Takapuna
2. St Albans
3. Eastern Suburbs
4. Otumoetai Cadets
5. Taieri
6. United

With Thanks To

Sky Pitch ANZ Ford
2 Degrees Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui