Stewart named Wizards Player of the Year

Wizards Award Winners

Harcourts Vision Canterbury Wizards Player of the year:

Shanan Stewart

It was an outstanding season for Shanan with the bat accross all forms of the game. He was rewarded for his outstanding performance by being included in the Black Caps squad to play Australia at home, making his ODI debut at Eden Park.

* Image of Shanan Stewart receiving his award.

Speights Canterbury Wizards Batsman of the Year:

(shared award) Michael Papps and Shanan Stewart

The award from the Canterbury Wizards batsman of the year was too close to call this season so the award is a joint award between two outstanding batsmen who have performed throughout the season in all forms of the games.

Michael continued an unprecedented run with the bat for Canterbury.  In the HRV Cup he scored 183 runs averaging 20, which placed him in the top 15 in New Zealand. In the one Day Competition he scored 511 runs, the most for Canterbury, including a highest score of 150, one other hundred and an average of 56. He was the second top run scorer in New Zealand for this competition In the Plunket Shield he was once again the top run scorer for Canterbury, amassing 927 runs at an average of 48, with 4 hundreds, 4 fifties and a top score of 180.  During the season he became to highest first class run scorer for Canterbury and became the first Wizard to surpass 6000 first class runs for the province.

Shanan enjoyed a great season with the bat.  In the Plunket Shield he scored 812 runs at an average of 74 and during the season scored his first double century in the first class arena, ending with 227 not out.  His average and aggregate placed him in the top 5 in the country for this competition. In the one day competition he scored 401 runs with an outstanding strike rate and top score of 101, once again being placed in the top 5 in NZ in this competition as well. Add in 199 runs in the HRV Cup, with two half centauries. it was certainly an outstanding season for Shanan, which was topped off with selection for the Black Caps, where he made his ODI debut against Australia. 

Cricket Express Canterbury Wizards Bowler of the year:

Carl Frauenstein (Limited Overs); Brandon Hiini (1st Class)

Carl made his mark in the limited overs forms of the game.  In the HRV Cup, he was the top wicket taker for the Wizards, with 10 wickets and he was also the top wicket takers in the One Day competition with 11 wickets with a best of 4-48. 

Brandon made his mark for Canterbury in the Plunket Shield as top wicket taker for the Canterbury Wizards.  He claimed 22 scalps, placing him in the top 10 in the country, with a best of 4-48 and an average of 30.

Magicians Award Winners

Harcourts Vision Canterbury Magicians Player of the Year:

Amy Satterthwaite

Amy underlined her class by claiming the prize for the second consecutive summer.  Her 450 runs for the Magicians was over 150 ahead of her next team mate and her contribution with the ball of 15 One Day and 4 Twenty20 wickets placed her once again as one of the top all rounders in the Country.

Cricket Express Canterbury Magicians Bowler of the Season:

Erin Bermingham

Erin was the top wicket taker for the Canterbury Magicians in the Twenty20 competition, claiming 7 wickets at an average of 12, with a best of 4-14 which had her placed 4th nationally.  In the One day competition she took 7 wickets at an average of 30 with a best of 2-41. Her efforts meant that she was included over the summer in both the New Zealand Emerging Players and White Ferns Squads making her Twenty20 debut against Australia in Hobart.

* Image of Erin Bermingham receiving her award.

Speights Canterbury Magicians Batsman of the Season:

Amy Satterthwaite

This season Amy played in all 10 of the Magicians games, she scored 376 runs, including 3 50’s, with an average of 42 and highest score of 92 not out.  This placed her in the top 5 in New Zealand.  In the Twenty20 competition she scored 52 runs, including a highest score of 50.  She also consolidated her place in the White Ferns as a middle order player.

Underage Representative Winners

Junior Batting Trophy - This award is for the Canterbury batsman who scored the most runs at the U19 National Tournament:
Tom Latham

Junior Bowling Trophy

Theo van Woerkom
This award is for the Canterbury bowler took the most wickets at the U19 National Tournament

The DN Stokes Trophy :

Dan Burrows
For the CSCA Senior Representative most outstanding performance in a rep match

Special Awards Presented

Rob Nicol- Black Caps selection

Rob has been outstanding both on and off the field during his debut season with the Canterbury Wizards finishing 10th overall in the national Mitre 10 MVP. His outstanding results in all forms of the game this season have earned him a place in the Black Caps Twenty20 squad heading to the West Indies later in the month for the Twenty20 World Cup.

Erin Bermingham- White Ferns Debut

After a couple of outstanding seasons for the Canterbury Magicians Erin Bermingham was named in the White Ferns squad for the Rose Bowl series against Australia making her international Twenty20 debut at Bellerive Oval in Hobart.

Shanan Stewart- Black Caps Debut

Shanan Stewart has solidified himself as one of the premier batsmen on the domestic scene. Hitting the fastest 50 in domestic One Day history, 50 runs off just 19 balls against Otago and maintaining a fantastic average in all forms of the game this season gave the Black Caps selectors all the reason they needed to select him as a part of the squad to take on Australia during February. Shanan made his Black Caps debut at Eden Park on March 11.

Michael Papps- Highest First Class Run Scorer in Canterbury Cricket History

Michael has amassed over 6000 first class runs for Canterbury during his career. In the final Plunket Shield match against Auckland he needed just 28 runs to claim the record but in true form he not only got the 28 required but also went on to score the rare feat of 100 in the first session. Out for 104 in the first innings Michael backed up in the second scoring 180 runs.

With Thanks To

Sky Pitch ANZ Ford
2 Degrees Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui