Rutherford, Latham and Hira come in to Twenty20 squad

Leaving the squad that was knocked out of the ICC Champions Trophy on Monday are the injured trio of Daniel Vettori, Grant Elliott and Tim Southee, along with batsmen Kane Williamson and Luke Ronchi.

BLACKCAPS Twenty20 squad
Brendon McCullum (Otago Volts – captain)

Corey Anderson (Northern Knights)

Doug Bracewell (Central Stags)

Ian Butler (Otago Volts)

James Franklin (Wellington Firebirds)

Martin Guptill (Auckland Aces)

Roneel Hira (Canterbury Wizards)

Tom Latham (Canterbury Wizards)

Mitchell McClenaghan (Auckland Aces)

Nathan McCullum (Otago Volts)

Kyle Mills (Auckland Aces)

Colin Munro (Auckland Aces)

Hamish Rutherford (Otago Volts)

Ross Taylor (Central Stags)

The two Twenty20s are on Tuesday 25 June and Thursday 27 June and they will both be held at the Oval in London. The games will start at 6.30pm UK time (5.30am NZ time). The BLACKCAPS will warm up for the two matches with a game against Kent in Canterbury on Saturday evening.

Meanwhile Vettori had surgery on his troublesome left Achilles in London yesterday. BLACKCAPS physiotherapist Paul Close says the former skipper’s operation went well.

“Dan has been suffering from this injury for the past year and surgery was the only option to prolong his career with the BLACKCAPS,” says Close.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills