NZCT Junior Boys Finals underway

The NZCT Junior Boys tournament kicked off in Palmerston North today, with the top six year 9&10 teams from around the country competing for the honour. Schools compete over term four and term one within each of the six Major Cricket Associations and play regional finals to determine their winner. The victors from each of these finals then go on to represent their Major Association at these finals. 

Otago Boys’ have won the competition the last two years and return to Palmerston North the defend their title for a third consecutive year. 

The finalists for 2014 are:  
Auckland Grammar School: Auckland. 
Christchurch Boys’ High School, Canterbury. 
Hastings Boys’ High School: Central Districts.  
Hutt International Boys’ School, Wellington. 
Otago Boys High School: Otago. 
Tauranga Boys’ College, Northern Districts.   

The finals are 40 over round robin format, and are being played at both Manawaroa Park, and Fitzherbert Park between the 25th and 28th March, with the latter recently regaining first class ground status once again. The team with the most points at the end of the tournament will be declared the NZCT Junior Secondary Schoolboys champions 2014.

The draw and results for the week can be located here.   

With Thanks To

Sky Pitch ANZ Ford
2 Degrees Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui