NZCT Junior Boys’ Final: Day 3

Early morning rain delayed the start of round three of the NZCT Junior Boy’s Cup national finals’ tournament. Matches had to be reduced to 35 overs and were played in damp, very overcast conditions. All teams winning the toss asked their opponents to bat first.

Match 1: St Patrick’s College v Otago Boys’ High School

SPC made 161/8 in their 35 overs, their best score to date in the finals. Sean O’Connor and Michael Lowe both scored handy twenties and a large number of extras aided their cause. Captain Harry Jones and Isaac Gutschlag both grabbed two wickets. In reply OBHS lost a couple of early wickets, before Isaac Gutschlag with 42, who had a very good double, and Kane Russell 23, steadied the ship. However, on their dismissal OBHS collapsed to be all out for 117. Sean O’Connor, Karl Dumelow and Michael Lowe were the chief destroyers. Although OBHS lost today they qualified first in pool A to go into the tournament’s final tomorrow.

SPC: 161/8 (Sean O’Connor 26, Michael Lowe 25, Harry Jones 2/24, Isaac Gutschlag 2/30)
OBHS: 117 (Isaac Gutschlag 42, Kane Russell 23)
Result: Win to St Patrick’s College by 44 runs

Match 2: New Plymouth Boys’ High School v Tauranga Boys’ College

On a difficult, popping pitch NPBHS struggled to be all out for 94 in the 30th over. Captain William Young stood out with his well compiled 29. It was certainly a day for the bowlers with Campbell Taylor takes two wickets and Elliott Timoto three. TBC had a solid start due to its captain Joe Carter with 33, but wobbled towards the end of its innings, but finally reached the required target seven down. Again the NPBHS bowlers of Mitchell Brown, W. McBride and Conner Oliver-Rose all returned very good bowling figures.

NPBHS: 94 (William Young 29, Campbell Taylor 2/19, Elliott Timoto 3/12)
TBC: 95/7 (Joe Carter 33, Mitchell Brown 3/15, W. McBride 2/16, Conner Oliver-Rose 2/17)
Result: Win to Tauranga Boys’ College by 3 wickets

Match 1: Auckland Grammar School v St Bede’s College

While five batsmen made starts, only O Meyer-Smith surpassed twenty in AGS’s tally of 146/9. However, their total was substantially aided by 57 extras. Hagen Schulte again continued his very good bowling form to take three wickets for SBC. In reply SBC had a strong start courtesy of a fine 46 from opener Hamish Teale. However, the run rate climbed, and while Matt Comyns added a quick 21, it was left to a belligerent 39 not out by Matthew Kottier to get SBC home in the 34th over.

AGS: 146/9 (O Meyer-Smith 21; Hagen Schulte 3/27)
SBC: 148/8 (Hamish Teale 46, Matt Comyns 21 Matthew Kottier 39 no; S Arms 3/26)
Result: Win to St Bede’s College by 2 wickets

Match 2: Napier Boys’ High School v Hamilton Boys’ High School

HBHS found themselves under pressure for the first time in the tournament. Accurate bowling backed by agile fielding saw NBHS restrict them to 118/8. Main contributors were Jared Sun 29 and Hugh Blake 20. Best of the tidy NBHS attack were Jonty McBrearty and Jack Robson. NBHS started steadily but the loss of three wickets at 29 saw them stagger and lose wickets regularly. A twenty run last wicket stand saw them post 88 well short of the required target. Again the HBHS spinners took control and they were backed by some outstanding catching. However, it was medium pacer Sam Nahna who collected the spoils with a very tidy spell which saw take five wickets. Aaron Lowe and Mitchell Dickeson both took two apiece. This win saw HBHS top pool B with three wins and gain a place in tomorrow’s final.

HBHS: 118/8 (Jared Sun 29, Hugh Blake 20; Jonty McBrearty 3/33, Jack Robson 2/15)
NBHS: 88 (Sam Nahna 5/23, Aaron Lowe 2/15, Mitchell Dickeson 2/14)
Result: Win to Hamilton Boys’ High School by 30 runs

The final placings in the two pools have now been determined. In pool A by match results and in pool B by a combination of match results and run versus wicket differentials.

Final round matches (Pool A team named first)

Pool A

Final: Otago BHS v Hamilton BHS
3 v 4: Tauranga Boys’ College v Auckland Grammar School
5 v 6: New Plymouth BHS v St Bede’s College
7 v 8: St Patrick’s College v Napier BHS

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills