NZC announces BLACKCAPS squad for SA tour

New Zealand Cricket today announced the ODI squad for next month’s tour to South Africa.

The ODI squad is: Stephen Fleming (Captain), Daniel Vettori (Vice Captain), Andre Adams, Nathan Astle, Shane Bond, James Franklin, Hamish Marshall, James Marshall, Brendon McCullum, Craig McMillan, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Scott Styris, Lou Vincent

“was not selected due to issues with his cricket fitness. I have met with Chris to discuss his non selection and what is required for him to play his way back into the side. He is focused on playing in the World Cup and will have plenty of opportunity to return to form and full match fitness over the domestic season. He will be considered for a return to international cricket later in the summer,” BLACKCAPS coach John Bracewell said.

“James Franklin has been brought into the team to replace Chris. We felt we had enough batting options, but needed an additional bowling option,” he said.

“Jeetan Patel showed good progress in his first tour in Zimbabwe. He provides a second spin bowling option and is good in the field. He is a long term investment and deserves to be retained for a second tour.

“The BLACKCAPS will tour with 15 players as we need an extra option to make the best use of the new substitute rules,” he said.

“Franklin, James Marshall and Patel will play out the remainder of the one-day section of the A series in Sri Lanka. Their replacements for the four-day matches will be announced tomorrow.”

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills