NZC announce BLACKCAPS Twenty20 and Test squads

New Zealand Cricket (NZC) today announced the Twenty20 and International squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa.

Twenty20 squad:

Brendon McCullum (c): Otago Volts
Corey Anderson: Northern Knights
Trent Boult: Northern Knights
Doug Bracewell: Central Stags
Derek de Boorder: Otago Volts
James Franklin: Wellington Firebirds
Peter Fulton: Canterbury Wizards
Martin Guptill: Auckland Aces
Ronnie Hira: Canterbury Wizards
Nathan McCullum: Otago Volts
Mitchell McClenaghan: Auckland Aces
Adam Milne: Central Stags
Colin Munro: Auckland Aces
Jimmy Neesham: Otago Volts
Rob Nicol: Canterbury Wizards

Speaking about the Twenty20 squad Kim Littlejohn said: “The squad had a mix of experienced performers and young players who are not yet experienced at international level.
“The more experienced players will play a significant role as we face the challenge of playing a very strong South African side in their own conditions.

“Tim Southee and Jacob Oram were not considered for T20 selection due to the pending birth of their children while Andrew Ellis was ruled out with a side strain.”

Speaking about the Twenty20 squad Mike Hesson said: “We believe the squad has a good blend of experience and young talented players who we are sure are ready for the challenges ahead.

“Corey Anderson, Jimmy Neesham, Colin Munro, Derek de Boorder and Mitchell McClenaghan are in good form and have shown considerable promise.  They deserve their chance to impress at a higher level. 

“Peter Fulton is also recalled after enjoying a good start to the domestic season for Canterbury.

“Playing South Africa will be a great experience for this young side and we look forward to a highly competitive series.”

Test squad:

Brendon McCullum (c): Otago Volts
Trent Boult: Northern Knights
Doug Bracewell: Central Stags
Dean Brownlie: Canterbury Wizards
Daniel Flynn: Northern Knights
James Franklin: Wellington Firebirds
Peter Fulton: Canterbury Wizards
Martin Guptill: Auckland Aces
Chris Martin: Auckland Aces
Bruce Martin: Auckland Aces
Jeetan Patel: Wellington Firebirds
Kane Williamson: Northern Knights
Tim Southee: Northern Knights
Neil Wagner: Otago Volts
BJ Watling: Northern Knights

Speaking about the Test squad National Selection Manager Kim Littlejohn said: “South Africa are always a tough opponent and even more so at home.

“The series will be an exciting test for the developing side who are looking to build on the recent Test win in Sri Lanka.

“Daniel Vettori is continuing his rehabilitation from injury and was unavailable for selection for the Test squad. “
Mike Hesson: “We are expecting a very tough series and I’m sure our squad are up for the challenge.

“The majority of the squad took part in the recent Test series in Sri Lanka but felt that it was necessary to make a few changes. 

“We don’t require a leg-spin option in South African conditions so have left out Todd Astle but he is very much part of our thinking for the future

“Bruce Martin is a specialist spinner who can bowl a lot of overs and he deserves an opportunity after showing good recent form.
“Following on from BJ Watling’s good form in Sri Lanka and again while back in New Zealand, he has been selected as the Test wicketkeeper.”

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills