NZ Blind Cricket team announced

The New Zealand Blind Cricket Association (inc) met with selectors this weekend passed to confirm and announce the team to play Australia in 3 one day international matches in North Parramatta, Sydney from 13 to 17 January 2010.

The team of 13 players and one manager, holds some familiar faces who were present in the 2006 squad who took part in the 3rd Cricket World Cup for the Blind in Islamabad, Pakistan but also a number of new faces who team captain James Dunn believes “…hold a lot of potential and skill. The team has room for improvement and now we can put the time and effort into developing these players and focusing on enhancing their skills”.

“While the team is a mix of old and new players there is enough of a skill base there for the selectors to work with to develop each members individual potential as well as the over all team dynamics” said vice captain Donna McCaskill.

The selectors went with a make up of 5 B1 players (Totally Blind), 4 B2 players (Partially Sighted) and 4 B3 players (Partially Blind) and will meet weekly to develop team and individual skills and will hold it’s next full team training camp in Auckland over the weekend of Friday 20 November to Sunday 22 November.

For further information regarding the ODI series please contact:
Donna McCaskill +64211699274 or

For further information regarding the Team List please contact:
Daniel Te’o (NZ Selector) +642102062744 or

For further information regarding Blind Cricket please contact:
Neil Fellows (NZBCA inc Secretary) +64274473214 or

Team List

Daniel Te’o
Andrew McDonald
Greg Johnson
Glenn Hanneman   
Parveen Shankarr

James Dunn (c)
Milton Paul
Enele Fa’apusa
Ese Aumalesulu

Donna McCaskill (vc)
Ben Fellows
Jethro Molemele
Ryan Middleton

Neil Fellows

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills