New Zealand Under 19 squad announced for quad series

New Zealand Cricket today announced a 15-player squad to compete in a quadrangular series along with England, India and hosts Australia.

William Young (c) – Central Districts
Joe Carter – Northern Districts
Sean Davey – Northern Districts
Michael Davidson - Canterbury
Jacob Duffy - Otago
Cameron Fletcher – Auckland
Ben Horne – Auckland
Nick Kelly – Northern Districts
Connor Neynens – Central Districts
Edward Nuttall – Canterbury
Matthew Quinn – Auckland
Ish Sodhi – Auckland
Theo van Woerkom – Canterbury
Joe Walker – Northern Districts
Henry Walsh – Wellington

NZC National Selection Manager Kim Littlejohn said: “I’m excited about this group, which has a great deal of promise and highlights the depth of talent we have in this country.

“We are well underway with our planning and preparation for the ICC Under 19 World Cup later in the year.  This series, against quality opposition, will provide a valuable opportunity for the squad and we expect the players to learn a lot.

“The cricket will be a big step up for the squad, giving us a good gauge on how they perform at this level and provide players with the opportunity to cement their spot in the World Cup squad announced later in the year.”

The 50-over tournament will take place in Townsville with the team departing for Australia on 2 April 2012.  The teams will play each other once to determine placing’s before contesting semi-finals and final.  

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills