New Plymouth repeat NZCT Cup success

New Plymouth Girls High School have claimed a fourth successive NZCT Cup win with a five-wicket win over first-time finalists Havelock North High School.

Havelock won the toss and batted but were dismissed for 49 in 38.4 overs, with Kate Broadmore taking 1/2 off seven overs, Brooke Sim 3/9 and Kendra Cocksedge 3/5.

Chasing 50 to win NPGHS had a couple of hiccups but reached the target in 20.1 overs, and captain Kendra Cocksedge received the trophy from White Fern Haidee Tiffen.

Player of the tournament Katie Perkins helped Westlake Girls School claim third place, scoring 33 and taking three for 18 in a 78-run win over Whangarei Girls’ High.

Perkins, who won the Ina Lamason Trophy, scored 191 runs, including the only century of the tournament, took seven wickets and three catches and will play for Auckland at the National Development Tournament starting this weekend.

She has also been named in the Auckland Hearts State League team.

Tauranga Girls College claimed fifth place with a 40-run win over Otago High School, after leg-spinner Kirbie Samkin took the first five-wicket bag of the tournament, claiming her victims for 23 runs.

Marian College had their first win of the tournament beating Wellington Girls College in the play off for seventh place.

They claimed an 18-run win courtesy of Kiriana Brown’s 23 and 4/12 off eight overs to dismiss Wellington for 68, helped in no small measure by Lucy Emery’s 4/11.

Short scorecards

Havelock North High School 49 (Olivia Gregory 16, Brooke Sim 3/9 Kendra Cocksedge 3/5) lost to New Plymouth Girls High School 50/5 by 5 wickets

Play Off for 3rd and 4th
Westlake Girls High School 145/6 (Katie Perkins 33, Courtney Manning 28, Sam Morgan 2/19) beat Whangarei Girls High School 71 (Sam Morgan 23, Katie Perkins 3/18) by 78 runs

Play Off for 5th and 6th
Tauranga Girls College 137/9 (Tori Horsley 37, Zoey Dickson 37, Greg Campbell 2/12, Michelle Moir 2/21) beat Otago Girls High School 97 (Una Manning 32, Kirbie Samkin 5/23) by 40 runs

Play Off for 7th and 8th
Marian College 86 (Kiriana Brown 23, Jacinda Ashley-Jones 3/20, Celia Holmes 3/14, Holly Grover 3/10) beat Wellington Girls College 68 (Rebecca Rodgers 17, Kiriana Brown 4/12, Lucy Emery 4/11) by 18 runs

Final placings

1st New Plymouth Girls High School
2nd Havelock North High School
3rd Westlake Girls High School
4th Whangarei Girls High School
5th Tauranga Girls College
6th Otago Girls High School
7th Marian College
8th Wellington Girls College

Player of the Tournament (Ina Lamason Trophy): Katie Perkins (Westlake Girls High School)

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills