National Under-19 Tournament 2007/08: Round 5

Otago claimed a fifth-round victory over Auckland in the National Under-19 Tournament at Lincoln.

A two-wicket win at the Bert Sutcliffe Oval gave Otago outright second place in the competition with two rounds to go, although Auckland’s place in the final is assured.

Auckland took the crease first, but their in-form batting order floundered against Brad Rodden, who took 3/26 off seven overs to limit the opposition to 156.

Rodden and Campbell Clark’s 67-run stand for the second wicket set Otago on their way.

And although spinners Jeet Raval and William Brittain took five wickets between them, Otago claimed victory with seven deliveries to spare.

Central Districts and Northern Districts maintained their hopes of a place in the final with victories over Canterbury and Wellington respectively.

On Lincoln No. 3 Oval, CD opener Dean Robinson top scored with 89 and Bronson Meehan provided 56 in a third-wicket partnership of 134, the bulk of their side’s 207/7.

Canterbury petered out at 172 with five balls of the designated 50 overs to spare.

Sam Noster top scored with 48 off 75 balls and opener Bill Walsh scored 39 but the tail folded with spinners George Worker getting three wickets and Bronson Meehan four.

ND defended a total of 210, earned after captain Andrew Sclater’s 52 and 33 from 16 balls from number 10 Jason Trembath/

Tom Blundell made 66 but Anurag Verma took 3/52 and Andrew Mathieson 2/37 off eight overs as to Wellington lost regular wickets and were nine down and 14 runs short at stumps.


Auckland 156 (Brad Rodden 3/26) lost to Otago 158/8 (Campbell Clark 38, Brad Rodden 50, William Brittain 3/23) by 2 wickets

Northern Districts 210 (Andrew Sclater 52, Tamati Clarke 48, Jason Trembath 33, Tom Worthington 3/52) beat Wellington 196/9 (Tom Blundell 66, Anurag Verma 3/52) by 14 runs

Central Districts 207/7 (Dean Robinson 89, Bronson Meehan 56, Bill Walsh 3/42) beat Canterbury 172 (Bill Walsh 39, Sam Noster 48, George Worker 3/26, Bronson Meehan 4/34) by 35 runs

Auckland 24
Otago 14
Central Districts 10
Northern Districts 10
Wellington 9
Canterbury 8

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills