National Under-19 Tournament 2007/08: Round 4

Auckland extended their lead in the National Under-19 Tournament after half-centuries from Shaun McCann and Jeet Raval led them to a fourth-round win over Wellington.

Wellington made a positive start batting first, Michael Pollard scoring 43 off 44 balls before Ajaz Patel, James Fuller, Jack Dowd and Alex McDuff all took two wickets each to leave them all out for 205. 

Opener Raval made 53 off 70 balls and number three McCann 55 to lead their side to a seven-wicket victory.

Michael Bracewell struck 63 from just 36 balls as Otago defeated Central Districts to claim a second bonus-point victory in succession to take second place in the competition.

CD opener Simon Wraight was the backbone of the innings with an unbeaten 86, but could not find a partnership as they were all out for 190 in 42.4 overs. 

Otago eased to victory in 34 overs to win with the bonus point, Bracewell launching 12 fours and a six along the way.

On the Bert Sutcliffe Oval Canterbury fell to a five-wicket defeat to Northern Districts.

Canterbury was in trouble from the very first over, falling to 63 for five after 20 overs. Kane Whiteley scored 23 batting at number nine, but Canterbury was all out for 130 in 48.4 overs.

At one stage ND was also in trouble, falling to 59/4 but a 54-run partnership between Jono Hickey and Andrew Sclater for the fifth wicket earned victory.

Canterbury 130 (Anurag Verma 3/21) lost to Northern Districts 131/5 (Jono Hickey 49) by 5 wickets.

Wellington 205 (Michael Pollard 43) lost to Auckland 207/3 (Shaun McCann 55, Jeet Raval 53) by 7 wickets.

Central Districts 190 (Simon Wraight 86*, Nick Beard 3/27) lost to Otago 192/7 (Michael Bracewell 63) by 3 wickets.

Auckland 24
Otago 10
Wellington 9
Canterbury 8
Central Districts 6
Northern Districts 6

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills