National Under-19 Tournament 2007/08: Final

Auckland defeated Otago by three wickets with an over to sparein a thrilling final at Lincoln’s Bert Sutcliffe Oval to become New Zealand’s Under 19 champions.

Otago openers Hamish Rutherford and Michael Bracewell got Otago off to a flying start putting on 86 for the first wicket. including 83 by Rutherford.

A knock of 41 by Brad Rodden and an unbeaten 58 from Jess Simpson helped Otago to 287/9.

Auckland started briskly with Jeet Raval and Shaun McCann putting on 93 for the first wicket in 71 balls, Ravel making 81.

Aaron Arnold scored 62 before Rory Christopherson and Jack Dowd put on an unbeaten 49 off 55 balls to get them home in an exciting finish. 

Northern Districts claimed third place with a 106-run win over Central, courtesu of Dane Sorensen’s 93 not out.

Jason Trembath took three wickets to limit CD for 125 in 35.1 overs.

Michael Pollard and Fraser Colson scored half centuries as Wellington defeated Canterbury to take fifth place.

Otago 287/9 (Hamish Rutherford 83, Brad Rodden 41, Jesse Simpson 58*, Jack Dowd 3/28) lost to Auckland 290/7 (Jeet Raval 81, Aaron Arnold 62, Jack Dowd 36*) by 3 wickets

Play off for 3rd and 4th
Northern Districts 231/6 (Dane Sorrenson 93*, Tamati Clarke 38, Andy Dodd 4/22) beat Central Districts 125 (Jason Trembath 3/19) by 106 runs

Play off for 5th and 6th
Canterbury 255/8 (James O'Gorman 49, Corey Anderson 84, Josh Reeves 33) lost to Wellington 257/5 (Michael Pollard 51, Fraser Colson 55, Tom Blundell 34*, Ricky Joseph 33*) by 5 wickets

1st Auckland
2nd Otago
3rd Northern Districts
4th Central Districts
5th Wellington
6th Canterbury

With Thanks To

Sky Pitch ANZ Ford
2 Degrees Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui