National Under-17 Tournament: Round Five

Otago claimed victory over Auckland to claim the National Under-17 title at Napier, pipping Wellington after their final round defeat to Canterbury.

Auckland v Otago
Batting first Otago struggled against the tight bowling and at one point were 95 for five before some useful partnerships saw the team through to 211 although not seeing out the allocated 50 overs.

Auckland were immediately in trouble, losing their first wicket without scoring. A continuous flow of wickets saw Auckland dismissed well short of the desired total for 149 in 40 overs.

Wellington v Canterbury
Canterbury bowler Des Kruger took eight for 44 to seal a 14-run win and deny Wellington a chance of victory in the competition.

Finishing well, Canterbury added 103 in the last 12 overs, and that proved too much for the capital province.

Wellington were still in the hunt, with 14 needed from the last two overs, but wickets in consecutive balls left them short, and denied them chance of the title.

Northern Districts v Central Districts
CD were looking goo to breach the 200 mark, but were ultimately dismissed for 182 in the 47th over.

The ND reply started badly, falling to 57 for five after 22 overs.

They were finally out for 158, 25 runs short of victory.

Short scoreboards

Auckland v Otago
Otago: 211 all out (45 overs) (N Beard 58, M Bracewell 30, B Warren 3/18)
Auckland: 149 all out (40 overs) (S Wood 39; B Frost 5/36)
Win to Otago by 62 Runs

Wellington v Canterbury
Canterbury: 250/5 (B Walsh 78, L Bartholomeusz 62, M Latham 35*, L van Beek 17, I Tugaga 2/54)
Wellington: 236 all out (48 Overs) (J Austin-Smellie 74, F Colson 63; D Kruger 8/44)
Canterbury won by 14 runs

Northern Districts v Central Districts
CD: 182 (47.2 overs) (A Dodd 38, B Meehan 32, J Rurawhe 29)
ND: 158 all out (48 overs) (R Wilson 42, N Dodd 4/17)
Win to CD by 24 Runs

Final points table
Otago 16
Wellington 12
Central Districts 12
Northern Districts 10
Auckland 10
Canterbury 10

Tournament team
Tony Manning (AKL), Bruce Warren (AKL), Andy Dodd (CD), Bronson Meehan (CD), Jono Hickey (ND), Tamati Clarke (ND), Nicholas Beard (OTG), Michael Bracewell (OTG), Mark Souter (OTG), Jo Austin-Smellie (WELL), Tipene Friday (WELL), Ili Tugaga (WELL)


With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills