National Under-17 Tournament 2007/08: Day 1

Canterbury earned first-innings points against Wellington on the opening day of the 2007/08 National Under-17 Tournament at Napier’s Nelson Park.
Canterbury won the toss and elected to field first against Wellington, justifying the decision by ratlting through the order in just 35 overs at a cost of 84 runs.
Nick Ward provided 50 of those runs from the top of the order, carrying his bat through the innings.
Jared Roberts, with four for 31, and Matt McEwan (three for 20), were the capital outfit’s chief tormentors.
Canterbury earned first innings points, moving to 164 after recovering from a poor start.
A partnership of 64 between McEwan and Tim Johnston for the ninth wicket earned the points, and a first innings lead of 80.
Batting for a second time, Wellington were 35 without loss at stumps.
Hosts Central Districts won the toss and elected to field first against Northern Districts, and initially prospered.
ND’s progress was curtailed to 41 for four, before a middle-order partnership of 135 between Zac Scott and Curtis Cherrington restored momentum.
Bevan Small took three wickets for 34 runs as ND were removed for 260, with CD moving to 51 for three in reply.
Auckland won the toss and elected to bat first against Otago, recovering from 59 for five to post 356.
A partnership of 159 between centurions Jimmy Neesham and Rhys Pemberton put them back on course, the latter reaching three figures in just 71 deliveries.
An Otago collapse left Auckland on course for first-innings points.
From 39 without loss, Otago slumped to 51 for four, with Jayden Morris taking three for 11. Otago made six more runs without further loss in the day’s play.

Auckland v Otago
Auckland 1st Innings: 356 all out (R Pemberton 104, J Neesham 100, D Goodard 50, K Jadeja 32no, J Horrell 3-45, A Simpson 3-84)
Otago 1st Innings:  60 for four (K Daniel 29 no, S Paulin 22, J Morris 3-11)
Northern Districts v Central Districts
Northern Districts 1st Innings: 260 all out (Z Scott 118 no, C Cherrington 60, B Small 3-34, B Wheeler 2-36, B Jackett 2-47)
Central Districts 1st innings: 51 for three (T Landrigan 23 no, P West 3-24)
Canterbury v Wellington
Wellington 1st Innings: 84 all out (N Ward 50 no, M McEwan 3-20, J Roberts 3-31)
Canterbury 1st Innings – 164 All Out (M McEwan 43no, L Van Beek 26,T Johnston 22, K Hitchman 4-35)
Wellington 2nd Innings: 35 without loss

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills