National Provincial A Tournament: Round Five

Otago and Wellington shared the National Provincial A tournament after final round wins at Lincoln and Rangiora respectively.

Auckland v Otago
At Lincoln, Otago chased down Auckland’s 230, with Mark Ellison (54) and Hayden Finch (43) providing the cornerstone with a partnership of 97 after a shaky start.

Sean Eathorne (35) and Sam Wells (43*) secured the innings in their late partnership taking Otago to a four-wicket win and to 16 competition points.

Wellington v Canterbury
At Rangiora, Wellington also moved on to 16 points, defending their 202 all out comfortably.

Wellington removed the home team for 147 in 42.3 overs, which earned them a vital bonus point, which put them into joint first place.

Northern Districts v Central Districts
Nick Horsley hit 79 to help ND to 278 for nine, assisted by Jono Boult (56) and Simon Andrews (45).

Central Districts fought back strongly, with Stags batsman Tim Weston scoring an unbeaten 74 off 154 balls.

However, this not enough with ND defending their total to win by 32 runs.

Short scoreboards

Northern Districts v Central Districts at Lincoln Green
Northern Districts 278/9 (J Boult 56, N Horsley 79, S Andrews 45) beat Central Districts (T Weston 74*, S Baldwin 50) by 32 runs.

Auckland v Otago at Lincoln No. 3
Auckland 230/9 (T Lythe 45*, C Munro 41) lost to Otago (M Ellison 54, H Finch 43, S Wells 43* ) by 4 wickets.

Wellington v Canterbury at MainPower Oval, Rangiora
Wellington 202 beat Canterbury 147 by 55 runs.

Final points table
=1 Otago 16
=1 Wellington
3 Auckland
=4 Canterbury
=4 ND 10
6 CD 1

With Thanks To

Sky Pitch ANZ Ford
2 Degrees Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui