Hawke's Bay beat Hamilton to win the Hawke Cup

View ScoreCard

The Hawke’s Bay team have beaten Hamilton in their three day Hawke Cup Challenge match at Galloway Park in Hamilton. 

First innings

Doug Bracewell topscored with 91 as Hawke’s Bay made 210 in their first innings after being put in by Hamilton but kept the holders to 145 in theirs.

With the exception of Bracewell, the majority of the Hawke's Bay batsmen got starts but could not push on and build partnerships.

The Hamilton team conceded a 65 run lead with Ryan Shutte the only batsman making an impression with 56.

Keir Bettley was the best for Hamilton with four for 17 off 11.1 with Ben McLennan and Andrew Douglas taking three apiece for Hawke’s Bay.

Second innings

Hawke’s Bay’s second innings total of 278 gave them an overall lead of 334 – too much for Hamilton as they were rolled for 220, losing by 123 runs.

James de Terte and Mike Taiaroa put on 130 for the fifth wicket to take the game away from Hamilton.  Taiaroa was dismissed for 59 with de Terte 102 not out at the end of the innings.

Hamilton bowler James Baker was impressive taking six for 39 including five LBW’s to go with his two wickets in the first innings.

Number six batsman Sam McLeod resisted the inevitable with a fine 110 rear guard but Hamilton needed more from the top order if they were to retain the Hawke Cup. 

Ben McLennan was the chief destroyer taking six for 26 to seal the win.  McLennan ended with 9 for 61 for the match.

Next Challenge

The Hawke’s Bay team will now defend the Cup against the winner of Zone 1 (Upper North Island) from February 28 - March 02.

With Thanks To

Sky Pitch ANZ Ford
2 Degrees Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui