Guptill takes top honour at 2012 ANZ Cricket Awards

Opening batsman Martin Guptill has capped a stellar year with the BLACKCAPS to be named the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal winner at the 2011-12 ANZ New Zealand Cricket Awards this evening.

The most prestigious award of the evening is decided by an independent panel and handed to the player whose performances have been the most outstanding during the voting period.

The 26 year-old also picked up the Redpath Cup for First-Class batting, the ANZ Twenty20 Player of the Year and the ANZ One Day International Player of the Year.

Guptill has been in a rich vein of form across all formats during the 2011-12 season.  The tall right-handed batsman was second only to Ross Taylor in Test runs scored while topping the ODI and T20I tables for the BLACKCAPS.
He struck 490 Test runs, 579 ODI runs and 378 T20I runs with a combined total of two centuries and 13 half centuries.  

New Zealand Cricket Chief Executive David White congratulated Guptill, saying he richly deserves the honour after a memorable year with the bat.

“The individual honour caps off a great year for Martin Guptill,” said White.

“He has been a star performer in all formats and the awards are a reflection of his commitment to the team and his consistency as a player.

“He is thoroughly deserving of the top honour and recognition he is receiving.

“I would also like to congratulate the other award winners and send thanks to the judging panel headed by Don Neely.”

New Zealand Cricket’s broadcast partners SKY TV will show a highlights package at 12:30pm and 8:15pm on Saturday 20th October.


Development award winners (announced 13 June 2012):
Best Club Cricket Initiative – Ellerslie Cricket Club (Auckland)
Best Women’s Cricket Initiative – Christchurch Girls High School (Canterbury)
Best Youth Cricket Initiative – Kelston Girls High School (Auckland)
Best Junior Cricket Initiative – Lincoln Primary School (Canterbury Country)
Service to Cricket Award – Dave Gillespie (Wellington)

Redpath Cup
Awarded to the batsman whose performances in men’s First Class cricket have been the most meritorious. [2011 winner: Peter Ingram]
2012 Nominees: Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor

Winner: Martin Guptill

In the 2011-12 season Martin Guptill hit 927 First-Class runs with a high score of 195 and an average of just over 42.

Winsor Cup
Awarded to the bowler whose performances in men’s First Class cricket have been the most meritorious. [2011 winner: Chris Martin]
2012 Nominees: Doug Bracewell, Mark Gillespie, Neil Wagner

Winner: Doug Bracewell

Young pace bowler Doug Bracewell claimed 41 wickets at an average of 23.82 with best figures of six for 40. 

Fans Choice for Outstanding Individual Performance
The Fans’ Choice award for Outstanding Individual Performance is voted on by cricket fans across the nation. It recognises individual performances that were stellar, either showcasing the massive skill arsenal of the players themselves or having the power to alter match outcomes. [2011 winner: Neil Wagner]

2012 Nominees: Kane Williamson, Doug Bracewell, Michael Mason, Mark Gillespie, Bevan Small, Martin Guptill

Winner: Doug Bracewell

Doug Bracewell returned figures of 3-20 and 6-40 to gave him a figures of 9-60 and helped New Zealand to their first Test victory in Australia in 25 years.

Sir Jack Newman Award
Presented to an outstanding junior cricket administrator in New Zealand each year for past and present services to the game.   [2011 winner: Nick Craig]

Winner: Ross Parlane

Ross Parlane was selected to receive the award for his outstanding service to club cricket in Auckland, where he has spent more than 38 years volunteering at the North Shore Cricket Club (NSCC). He has contributed in a wide range of ways including the organisation of junior cricket tournaments, scoring premier matches, serving on the committee and proactively promoting the game.

The Bert Sutcliffe Medal
For outstanding services to cricket. [2011 winner: Ces Renwick]

Winner: Cran Bull

Cran Bull has given great service to the game of cricket, both as a player and administrator.  He played 18 seasons for Canterbury before taking a number of roles in club, provincial and national level, including 11 years as an NZC Board Member.

Gillette Young Player of the Year
[2011 winner: Simon Hickey]

Winner: Simon Hickey

Simon Hickey became first player to ever receive the award twice.  In the 2011 finals he had an aggregate of 359 runs, which included two centuries in just four innings. He averaged an incredible 179.50 with the bat, while also contributing six wickets with the ball.

Domestic Player of the Year – Men
Awarded to the most outstanding player in men's domestic cricket. [2011 winner: Rob Nicol]

Winner: Gareth Hopkins

Gareth Hopkins was one of the competition’s most consistent performers and made a significant contribution for his Auckland Aces side as a batsman, a wicket keeper and as their captain. His season was highlighted by two centuries and two half centuries in the Plunket Shield, where he scored a total of 523 runs at an average of 47.54.

Domestic Player of the Year – Women
Awarded to the most outstanding player in women's domestic cricket. [2011 winner: Sophie Devine]

Winner: Frances McKay

Frances Mackay was one of the leading wicket-takers for the Canterbury Magicians in this year’s domestic season, but it was her batting which was central to her success. She finished the season with an average of 41 in the Twenty20 competition and 80 in the 50 over competition, including 93 in the final.

International Women’s Player of the Year
Awarded to the player in women’s international cricket have been the most meritorious.
(2011 Winner: Sara McGlashan)

Winner: Amy Satterthwaite

Amy Satterthwaite put in a number of strong performances for the White Ferns during the season and was particularly dominant in the 50 over format. The 26 year-old averaged over 51 in ODIs and also brought up 1000 career runs.

The ANZ Twenty20 Player of the Year
Awarded to the most outstanding player in Twenty20 International cricket. (2011 Winner: Tim Southee)

Winner: Martin Guptill

Martin Guptill was inspirational for the BLACKCAPS this season in the Twenty20 facet. The dynamic opener had an unbelievable average of over 75, as well as three half centuries and a high score of 91 not out.

The ANZ One Day International Player of the Year
Awarded to the most outstanding player in One-Day International cricket (2011 Winner: Ross Taylor)

Winner: Martin Guptill

In the ODI format Martin Guptill lead the aggregate runs for the BLACKCAPS this season with 579 runs. His consistency was evident from his average of over 44 across 13 matches, which included six half-centuries and one century.

The ANZ Test Player of the Year
Awarded to the most outstanding player in Test cricket (2011 Winner: Brendon McCullum)

Winner: Doug Bracewell

Doug Bracewell finished the 2011-12 season with an unmatched 37 Test wickets at an average of 24.05.  He claimed two match-winning five wicket hauls, including a memorable six for 40 to lead New Zealand to a famous seven run win over Australia.

Sir Richard Hadlee Medal
The supreme award presented to the player whose performances in New Zealand Cricket have been the most outstanding. (2011 winner: Chris Martin)
Winner: Martin Guptill


With Thanks To

Sky Pitch ANZ Ford
2 Degrees Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui