Gillette Cup Finals: Day 4

Christchurch Boys’ High School and King’s College were declared joint winners of the 2006 Gillette Cup after rain lead to the abandonment of play on the final day of the finals.

King’s and Christchurch BHS, who shared the title in 2005, earned their crowns based on their unbeaten performances on the first three days of pool play.

Final placings:

1st= Christchurch Boys’ High School and King’s College
3rd= Palmerston North Boys’ High School and Tauranga Boys’ College
5th= Otago Boys’ High School and St Patrick’s College
7th= Hamilton Boys’ High School and Rathkeale College

The 2006 Gillette Player of the Year was also shared, with Corey Anderson and Tim Southee taking the Geoffrey Palmer Cup.

There were a number of outstanding individual performances during the tournament with the following players getting ‘Player of the Tournament Awards’ for their teams:

Corey Anderson (Christchurch Boys’ High School), Tim Southee (King’s College), Chad Law (Palmerston North Boys’ High School), Matt Golding (Tauranga Boys’ College), Charlie Hendry (Otago Boys’ High School), David Houghton (St Patrick’s College), Bradley Perrett (Hamilton Boys’ High School), Doug Bracewell (Rathkeale College).



With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills