Franklin replaces Mason in BLACKCAPS squad

James Franklin returns to the BLACKCAPS squad after impressing with bat and ball in the State Championship.

The State Wellington Firebirds left-armer made a First-Class best score of 208 and took four wickets in the State Championship leaders’ innings victory over State Auckland Aces this week.

Franklin replaces Michael Mason, who has failed to recover sufficiently from his lower back strain which kept him out of the 91-run win over the West Indies in Napier.

The BLACKCAPS can claim a clean sweep of the five-match National Bank One-Day International series with victory at Auckland’s Eden Park.

BLACKCAPS: Nathan Astle, Shane Bond, Stephen Fleming (captain), Peter Fulton, James Franklin, Brendon McCullum, Hamish Marshall, Kyle Mills, Jeetan Patel, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, Lou Vincent.

BLACKCAPS v West Indies, National Bank Series 5th ODI, Eden Park, Auckland, March 4 (2pm)

For ticket information for The National Bank Series, or call 0508 Cricket.


With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills