Emerging Women's Squad announced

New Zealand Cricket today announced a 14-player Emerging Women’s squad to face the Australian Shooting Stars in the upcoming tour of Australia.

The team departs New Zealand on November 11th and will play four 50-over matches in an eight day period, with all games taking place at Blacktown Olympic Park Oval in Sydney.


Maddy Green (c) – Auckland Hearts
Victoria Abbott – Otago Sparks
Kate Broadmore – Central Hinds
Natalie Dodd – Northern Spirit
Lauren Down – Auckland Hearts
Georgia Guy – Auckland Hearts
Hayley Jensen – Canterbury Magicians
Meg Kendal – Canterbury Magicians
Brooke Kirkbride – Northern Spirit
Felicity Leydon-Davis – Northern Spirit
Morna Nielsen – Northern Spirit
Katie Perkins – Auckland Hearts
Anna Peterson – Northern Spirit
Lea Tahuhu – Canterbury Magicians

There are four changes from the side that hosted the Shooting Stars in March, with recent White Fern members Morna Nielsen, Katie Perkins and Lea Tahuhu coming into the squad, along with 20 year-old Canterbury Magician’s all-rounder Hayley Jensen.

In total the squad has seven players who have experience at the top level, with Nielsen, Perkins and Kate Broadmore having participated in the recent ICC Women’s World Twenty20 tournament in Sri Lanka.

National Selection Manager, Kim Littlejohn, said: “The matches against Australia will provide these young players with a chance to impress selectors ahead of international fixtures later in the summer.
“It is important that we create opportunities for our next tier of players to experience a higher level of cricket so we can continue to build depth and create competition for places.”

The tour of Australia gives all the players involved an opportunity to test their skills at a higher level, as well as put the pressure on for White Ferns spots.”

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills