Christchurch BHS Gillette Cup Champions

For the second year in a row and seventh time in its 24 year history, Christchurch Boys’ High School has lifted the coveted Gillette Cup with a five wicket victory over Otago Boys’ High School.

The fifth and final day saw five teams in close contention for the top spot – however with another win today, and more net-runs-per-wicket than any other team, Christchurch Boys’ High School was the clear winner and crowned champion.

After dropping the first game to Mt Albert Grammar, the Christchurch side came back swinging and dominated all of its remaining matches.

In today’s match, Otago Boys’ High School won the toss and decided to bat first. The team struggled to gain momentum and finished its 50 overs on 173. Jeremy Benton once again impressed with the ball, taking two wickets and conceding just 19 runs off his 10 overs. 

Thanks to Stanley and some powerful batting from Tom Taylor, Christchurch Boys’ High School made short work of the run chase, reaching the required 174 in the 32nd over. Christchurch Boys’ High School’s opening batsmen, Daniel Stanley and Anty Burnett were both gunning for the title of biggest scorer in the tournament - Stanley came out on top with 270 runs over the five days after hitting 44. 

On today’s game plan, Christchurch Boys’ High School Captain Jeremy Benton says: “It was always a goal of ours to keep them under 200 and we’re pleased we restricted them to 174. Danny (Daniel Stanley) batting pretty much all the way through got us home and got us to the trophy.” 

Benton, who’s enjoying his second Gillette Cup win in as many years, adds: “Going back to back is pretty special.  All the boys have worked really hard, and to come away today with the win is pretty awesome.” 

Christchurch Boys’ High School Coach Matt Parr sums it up: "It’s remarkable – the national title in any sport is just so difficult to get so two years in a row. We’re very pleased”.

Scots College picks up a narrow win over Lindisfarne

Lindisfarne College went into day five the only real contender for the Gillette Cup, being first equal in points with Christchurch Boys’ High School at the start of the final day of play. 

Scots College chose to bat first, scoring 251 after 50 overs. Chander Ravi was aggressive with the bat, striking 124 runs with 12 fours. 

Scots College failed to capitalise on its strong position. Ravi was caught out in the 44th over and the late order batsmen added only 36 runs with the final wicket coming on the last ball.

In reply, Lindisfarne started strong, reaching 50 runs off just 37 balls. Dominic Thompson continued his good form with the bat reaching 53. Star all-rounder for Scots College, Josh Lawrence came off with a shoulder-injury, with Chander Ravi stepping up to the plate and grabbing three wickets for 36 off his 10 overs.

The game came down to the wire, Lindisfarne bowled out in the 48th over with only six runs needed for the win. 

Both teams will go home with their heads held high, each earning three wins out of five in the finals. 

Mt Albert Grammar Finish Strong

On the Lincoln Green, Mt Albert Grammar won the toss and chose to bat first. The Whangarei Boys’ High School bowlers started well and kept the pressure up. The fourth wicket falling in the 19th over and with 75 runs on the board. 

Mt Albert Grammar’s middle order batsman started stacking up the runs, both Aditya Dhadwal and Katene Clarke scoring half-centuries. There was a late flurry of wickets, with only 33 runs getting scored from the last five batsmen. Mt Albert Grammar finished its innings on 233, all out in the 46th over. 
he Mt Albert fielding side was just too strong, Whangarei Boys’ High School fell 57 runs short, all out in the 44th over. 

The 2013 Gillette Cup player of the year

The 2013 Gillette Cup player of the year was awarded to Captain Aditya Dhadwal from runners up Mt Albert Grammar College.

Throughout the finals tournament Aditya played consistently well taking nine wickets, four catches and got 195 runs with the bat.

Past winners include Brendon McCullum (2000), Tim Southee (2006), and Kane Williamson (2007). 

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills