Christchurch BHS crowned 2012 Gillette Cup Champions

Christchurch Boys’ High School have been crowned the 2012 National Secondary School Gillette Cup champions at the New Zealand Cricket High Performance Centre in Lincoln.

The local side bet King’s College by six wickets in the final game to narrowly claim the title by way of net-runs-per-wicket. Chasing 148, Christchurch Boys needed to win by five wickets or more and were successful at doing so after 47 overs in a tense finish. 

Three teams finished equal on points at the top, with Palmerston North BHS also finishing on seven points after their win over St Peter’s College. Their title aspirations were hurt though by an inferior net-runs-per- wicket, but they still rounded off the podium in third. In the other match Otago Boys’ High School picked up their first win of the tournament by defeating Hutt Valley High School by 47 runs. 

Gillette Cup Player of the Year: Jarrod Pike (Hutt Valley High School)
Highest run scorer: 333 - Jarrod Pike (Hutt Valley High School)
Highest wicket taker: 12 - Jonathan Whitley (St Peter’s School)


Christchurch Boys’ High School regained the Gillette Cup for the first time since 2009 with a six wicket victory over King’s College. 

Having been put into bat first, Kings made 148 for nine from their 50 overs after suffering a slow start. In reply Christchurch Boys benefitted from a strong opening partnership and went on to win after 47 overs. 

Daniel Stanley (30) and Anthony Burnett (25) put on 54 for the first wicket, before Burnett was caught in the 13th over. 

That brought captain David Wakefield (41*) to the crease and the number three played sensibly to lead his side towards the total. 

Three further wickets fell around him, but he remained calm and alongside James Cannan (19*) brought up the winning runs to give his side victory and ensure the title.    

Although defeated, Mitchell Murray bowled well for Kings and took two wickets in his 10 overs for 21 runs. 
Earlier Tom Gore had ripped through Kings with four wickets for 26 runs. 

The Kings’ top order fell apart to be 4-47 after 16.4 overs. The wickets continued to tumble and it looked like Christchurch Boys would only have to chase 100.
Some late resistance from Kim Kingstone (26) and Tom Donelly (34) sparked a small revival and they got close to the 150 mark. 

It wouldn’t be enough though, as a spirited display from Christchurch Boys lifted them to their sixth Gillette Cup title. 

KING’S COLLEGE 148-9 50 overs (T Donelly 34, K Kingstone 26; T Gore 4-26) LOST to CHRISTCHURCH BOYS’ HIGH SCHOOL 149-4 47 overs (D Wakefield 41*, D Stanley 30)


Palmerston North BHS ended the tournament with a three wicket win over St Peter’s School to finish equal on points at the top of the table.  

Net-runs-per-wicket were against them though, as they needed to make St Peter’s 181 with just one or two wickets down. It didn’t happen, with Plamerston North making the runs with three wickets in hand in the 47th over. 

Four players scored 30 or more in the pursuit, with Aran Noema-Barnett once again showing his consistency with a top score of 41. Hayden Spencer (34*) and Jackson Gattsche (30*) finished off the job to give Palmerston North their third win. 

Jonathan Whitley dismissed four batsmen to finish top wicket-taker in the competition and claim match figures of four for 33. 

Earlier in the day Tim Seifert had backed up his 100 yesterday with 54 for St Peters. He looked to be on his way to leading his side past 200 once again, until he was run out in the 33rd over. 
The wickets were shared by Palmerston North bowlers, while two run outs also helped them to restrict St Peters. 

ST PETER’S SCHOOL 181 all out 49.2 overs (T Seifert 54) LOST to PALMERSTON NORTH BHS 183-7 46.4 overs (A Noema-Barnett 41; J Whitley 4-33) 


Tom Griffin led Otago Boys High School to their first victory of the tournament with a brilliant 118 in the first innings to take his side to 304 for seven. 

In reply Hutt Valley put up a valiant effort but were only able to manage 257 all out, despite a century from opener Jarrod Pike.  

Pike continued to show his skills with a mature innings, hitting 13 fours on his way to 106 off 113 balls. He was lacking support though, as Otago Boys took regular wickets throughout the innings. 
Nishant Desai (39) and Mitchell Blucher (28) chipped in, but in the end Hutt valley were all out after 24.7 overs to give the southerners their first win. 

Earlier an opening partnership of 184 between Griffin and Liam Cotton set a new Gillette Cup record. The pair looked unstoppable, with Griffin brining up his century and Cotton looking likely to follow suit. 

 A couple of quick wickets in the final ten overs spoiled it for Cotton though, as he was dismissed for 93. Otago Boys middle order added the finals touches though and took their side past 300 for the first time this tournament.
Blucher not only contributed with the bat but also the ball for Hutt Valley and finished with figures of four for 77 from ten overs.

OTAGO BOYS’ HIGH SCHOOL 304-7 50 overs (T Griffiin 118, L Cotton 93; M Blucher 4-77) BEAT HUTT VALLEY HIGH SCHOOL 257all out 43.4 overs (J Pike 106)

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills