Central Districts Players of the Year Announced

Mathew Sinclair and Abby Burrows have been named Central Districts Players of the Year for 2008/2009.
Presentations of the Life Members Awards were made by Association President, Harry Findlay at the recent Development Conference.
Mathew Sinclair - BLACKCAP, Stag's Captain & inaugural State MVP Winner

In all forms of the domestic game for the season, Mathew scored a total of 1690 runs at 73.48 and took 5 Championship wickets at 41.80.
Mathew not only had an outstanding season with the bat but also took wickets at important times and was the leading catcher in New Zealand first class cricket for the season.

Inn No HS Runs Ave 100s 50s Catch
State Championship 15 3 164 904 75.33 4 4 18
State Shield 9 3 97 532 88.66 - 5 5
State Twenty20 6 1 85* 254 50.80 - 3 4

"Skippy" joins Mark Greatbatch as the only other multiple winner of the Central Districts Life Members Trophy, having previously won the award in 2003/04. 

Abby Burrows - White Fern, CD Hind

Abby is a long serving member of the State Central Hinds who was rewarded for her outstanding bowling by being selected for the White Fern's World Cup squad which was pipped at the post by England in the Final.

Ov Mdns Runs Wkts Ave RPO
State League 85 9 313 17 18.41 3.68
State League Twenty20 14.4 - 108 5 21.60 7.36

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills