Bate, Pulford and Doolan make Women’s World Cup 2009 Team of the Tournament

The ICC today announced the Team of the Tournament of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2009 which was staged in Australia from 7 to 22 March.

The team was selected by a specially assembled panel of experts, headed by former Australia captain Belinda Clark, which had also picked the player of the tournament.

Not surprisingly, players from the winning side make up most of the team but in total four of the eight competing teams are represented. Five of the team are from champion England while losing finalist New Zealand has provided three, including the 12th woman. In addition, there are three players from India and one from Australia.

The side includes five specialist batters – Suzie Bates, Shelley Nitschke, Claire Taylor, Mithali Raj and Charlotte Edwards – an all-rounder in Kate Pulford while Sarah Taylor has been picked as wicketkeeper/batter. The four bowlers include wrist spinner Priyanka Roy and off-spinner Laura Marsh and fast bowlers Katherine Brunt and Amita Sharma.

England captain Charlotte Edwards has been appointed captain of the side. Edwards, ICC’s Women’s Player of the Year in 2008, led England to victory in her 50th match as captain. She is the second most experienced captain amongst the current players after former India captain Mithali Raj who captained India in 58 ODIs, with only Belinda Clark and Clare Connor surpassing them in the all-time list.

The players who made the team will be presented with commemorative caps to mark their selection.

Announcing the side, Belinda Clark, who is the most successful batter in women’s ODIs with 4,844 runs, said: “It has been a very difficult decision to select the team of the tournament as there were some very strong performances throughout the event.

“There are a lot of people who would probably feel a little bit aggrieved I suppose at missing out with some fine performances. Haidee Tiffen is one player who I think pulled her team through some difficult positions. She didn’t quite get there mainly because of other players scoring the same number of runs at a better strike-rate. So she is probably one who should consider herself very unlucky.

To assist the selection panel, they were all provided with full statistics and averages for the ICC Women’s World Cup. The performances in the play-offs and the final were not taken into account.

Team of the Tournament ICC Women’s World Cup 2009:

Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
Shelley Nitschke (Australia)
Claire Taylor (England)
Mithali Raj (India)
Charlotte Edwards (England, captain)
Kate Pulford (New Zealand)
Sarah Taylor (England, wicket-keeper)
Amita Sharma (India)
Katherine Brunt (England)
Priyanka Roy (India)
Laura Marsh (England)
12th woman: Sophie Devine (New Zealand)

The selection panel consisted of:

Belinda Clark (former player)
Kathy Cross (umpire)
Danny Morrison (former player, commentator)
Alison Mitchell (media)
Brian Aldridge (match referee)

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills