Auckland take out Under 18 title

Auckland have won the National Under-18 championship for 2010-11 after accumulating 27 points across three formats and eight matches.

There is not doubt Auckland deserved the crown.  They were the only team to complete an outright win in the three-day competition, were undefeated in the 50-over section with their only loss coming in their second round Twenty20 match against Northern Districts.

Auckland’s five wicket Twenty20 win over Wellington today sealed the win with Northern Districts sneaking past Canterbury today to finish a close second on 25 points.

A consolation win to Central Districts over winless Otago saw them leap into fourth place, one behind Canterbury who secured third and just above Wellington who placed fifth.

Final placings:

1st – Auckland  (27 points)
2nd – Northern Districts (25 points)
3rd – Canterbury (16 points)
4th – Central Districts (13 points)
5th – Wellington (11 points)
6th – Otago (0 points)

Download the full points table

Final Twenty20 round:

Auckland v Wellington
Auckland won by 5 wickets
Full scorecard -

Northern Districts v Canterbury
Northern Districts won by 4 runs (D/L method)
Full scorecard -

Central Districts v Otago
Central Districts won by 46 runs
Full scorecard -

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills