Wellington see off Auckland – capture title

Wellington have beaten Auckland by eight runs in the penultimate round of the Provincial A tournament in Lincoln and in doing so secured the title with an unassailable lead.

Michael Pollard (53) and Josh Brodie (56) both made half-centuries to lead Wellington to a whopping 197 for six. In reply Cam Fletcher put up one heck of a fight with an unbeaten 86, but was unable to stop his side from falling short at 189 for six.

The 19 year-old smashed ten fours and two sixes in a determined performance with the bat. His 86 came from just 52 balls, but still he and his team were denied.

Jono Sole (22) and Dusan Hakaraia (25) made starts, along with a couple of others. The required run-rate created pressure though and it told, with Fletcher the only one to spend a long period of time at the crease.

Ili Tugaga was the chief-wicket taker, snaring two scalps in his four overs for 35.

Earlier, the Wellington batting-order had gone a long way to claiming the trophy.

A 50 run opening partnership between Ben Orton (17) and Michael Pollard came off just 4 overs, before Orton was dismissed leg-before wicket the very next ball.

Matthew Taylor then came in and snapped a quick-fire 23 before being run-out, bringing Brodie to the crease.

Brodie controlled the innings beautifully and showed all of his explosiveness with four fours and four sixes as well.

His 34 ball stint came to an end off the final delivery of the innings, but he’d already done the damage, getting his side to within three of 200.

The victory puts Wellington five points ahead of Auckland in second, ensuring them the trophy despite one round still to be played.

With Thanks To

Sky Pitch ANZ Ford
2 Degrees Accor Hotels BLK Burger King Caltex CCC GJ Gardner Hertz Les Mills Powerade Radio Sport TAB Tui