NZA fall to India by 18 runs

India handed New Zealand A an 18 run defeat in the opening Twenty20 match of the Emerging Players Tournament in Brisbane.

Batting first, India made 169 for four and restricted New Zealand to 151 for five.

The solid Indian batting display was led by openers Aniruda Srikkanth and Shkhar Dhawan who both scored 30 with 45 from 26 balls by Saurabh Tiwary closing out the innings.

Graeme Aldridge, Doug Bracewell and Luke Woodcock all picked up one wicket with Dean Brownlie completing a run-out.

New Zealand made a positive start to their run chase with opener Brad Wilson forming a useful partnership with first drop Brownlie before Wilson was dismissed for 27.

Brownlie continued to bat through the innings but struggled to find a partner who would stick around. 

He found a willing accomplice in Bracewell who savaged the Indian attack with a quickfire 47 off 25 balls but when he was removed the new batsmen were unable to keep up with the run rate.  Brownlie ended the match unbeaten on 55 off 44 balls.

New Zealand A play the Australian Institute of Sport XI and South Africa A tomorrow, 27 July 2011.

With Thanks To

ANZ Ford
Burger King Tui CCC Powerade Caltex 2 Degrees GJ Gardner BLK
Sky Pitch Radio Sport TAB Accor Hotels Les Mills